Wrap-Up: Northern California Craft Beer Guide Book Release

As mentioned yesterday, I headed to Whole Foods for the release of the above mentioned book. It’s a very nice looking book, and it’s cool to see people in the book that    I know. I also got a chance to chat with the author, Ken Weaver and the photographer, Anneliese Schmidt. Both were super nice people and were gracious in letting a nerdy beer blogger ramble. Keep an eye out for a review of the book in the next week or two.

Whole Foods also had some pretty tasty stuff on tap, so here’s a quick run down of what I had.

Magnolia Kolsch 4.8% – I always enjoy seeing this style. It rally is under appreciated in my opinion. Pretty clean and dry, with some blueberry flavors. A good amount of hopping, but no surprise from a CA brewery.

Magnolia Blue Bell Bitter 4.5%(?) – Hey, another style we don’t see much of around here! Grainy, with biscuit favors. Floral, tea-like hops. Highly drinkable. Very nice.

High Water Berliner Reisse 4% – A Berliner Weisse brewed with rice (hence the “reisse”). I was hesitant at first, because I’m not a big fan of rice beers, but I had to give it a shot. At first, there was some light peach sourness followed by a sweet, glutenous rice flavor, with very little body. I have to admit I did not like this at first, but after a couple of sips, that rice flavor dies down and the tartness really starts to pop out. In the end, I enjoyed this beer. It would be great to have on a really hot day.

Bear Republic Rebellion Premiant Single Hop 7% – Pretty aggressive, somewhat lacking in balance, but I guess that’s kind of the point with single hop beer. Soapy, bitter hops. Not my favorite of the Rebellion line, but that probably has more to do with the hp variety than the beer itself.

Leave a Reply

